Skip to content

Ohio Republican Gov. Mike DeWine announced on Friday that he has approved a request to send National Guard members to the nation’s southern border, making it the sixth state to do so. “The requested 185 members of the Ohio Army National Guard will be deployed to provide non-law enforcement support to the United States Custom and Border Protection (CBP) at the SWB,” the governor’s office said in a statement. “The Ohio National Guard Soldiers will join the estimated 3,000 Guard personnel requested from other states to support the SWB mission,” it added. Ohio joined Florida, Nebraska, South Dakota, Iowa and Arkansas in sending assistance in response to Republican Govs. Greg Abbott of Texas and Doug Ducey of Arizona in June. All six states to respond are led by Republican governors. Including Arizona and Texas, GOP-led states joining in the effort now include eight of the nation’s 23 states governed by Republicans. South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem said, “The border is a national security crisis that requires the kind of sustained response only the National Guard can provide.” Some states are sending law enforcement rather than National Guard personnel.

Notifications - Subscriptions
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x